CTQ and the 2016 Canstruction® Competition

The Kelowna Canstruction® Annual Competition took place from February 29th to March 6th, 2016 at Orchard Park Mall. For this competition, volunteer teams design and build creative structures out of canned foods. These structures are then judged on a variety of factors such as their use of labels, structural design, best meal from structures, and much more. After a week on display at Orchard Park Mall, the winners are announced and all the canned food used to create the structures is donated to the Central Okanagan Community Food Bank and the Salvation Army Food Bank.

Canstruction® – It starts with just one can.

Even though Canstruction® has only been in Kelowna for 6 years, it was founded in 1992 by Cheri Melillo and her colleagues from the Society for Design Administration. Her vision of introducing students to the design/build professions by bringing Canstruction® into school systems has become a reality. Students incorporate art and design, math, geometry, engineering, 3-D rendering, construction, and project management into this competition. Since its inception, Canstruction® has helped raise nearly 40 million pounds of donated food and the events are hosted in over 150 cities around the world.

CTQ – How can we help?

Recognizing how beneficial Canstruction® is, CTQ Consultants started participating in the event five years ago. Since then Dave Cullen, Murray Noble, Steve Tobler and Dylan deSousa have all donated their time and expertise in helping design and build sculpted can structures. Our co-builders have included the Downtown Kelowna Rotary Club, Capri Insurance, Dorothea Walker Elementary School and the C.E.F.A. Early Learning School.

For this year’s event CTQ helped with two builds:


“Hangry Bird”

Dave Cullen worked with Capri Insurance creating the 1200 can “Hangry Bird”, which won the top prize: the Judge’s Choice award.



“Hooty the Owl”

Dylan deSousa worked with C.E.F.A. building “Hooty the Owl” out of 1500 cans and wining the Structural Integrity award.


Congratulations to all who participated!